Polish Trio Help Napoli Clinch Serie A Title

More in section

SSC Napoli has won their third Serie A title in history, and three Polish players had a significant contribution to this success.

The club from the south of the Italian peninsula secured the championship with a 1-1 draw against Udinese on Thursday. Napoli had an 18-point lead over Lazio, the second team in the table, before the 33rd round of the league. Therefore, Napoli was almost certain of winning the championship, but they had to hold back their celebrations until the mathematical possibility of Lazio catching up was gone.

Piotr Zieliński, Bartosz Bereszyński, and Hubert Idasiak

The Azzurri’s main architect of this success was undoubtedly Piotr Zieliński, who played a crucial role in midfield. Moreover, Bartosz Bereszyński, a reserve defender, and young goalkeeper Hubert Idasiak were also a part of the team this season.

- Advertisement -

Napoli’s previous league titles came in the 1986/1987 and 1989/1990 seasons. The club had to settle for second place eight times and finished on the lowest step of the podium an equal number of times. Napoli has 80 points in the current season, and they have secured the Serie A championship with four games remaining.

The three Polish players’ achievement is a significant success for Polish football and highlights the quality of Polish players competing in top European leagues. The trio will now be looking to help Napoli secure their place in the Champions League next season, as they continue to make an impact in Italian football.

- Advertisement -
- Advertisement -