back to top

    The infamous Ribbentrop-Molotov Pact was signed 83 years ago

    83 years ago, on 23 August 1939, Joachim von Ribbentrop, Foreign Minister of the Third Reich, and Vyacheslav Molotov, People’s Commissar of Foreign Affairs of the USSR, signed the Soviet-German Non-Aggression Pact with a secret additional protocol, which resulted in the Fourth Partition of Poland.

    Read also ⤵️

    Ribbentrop-Molotov – IV Partition of Poland



    “On August 23, 1939, the infamous Ribbentrop-Molotov Pact was signed. Also known as the Hitler-Stalin Pact, it allowed Nazi Germany and the Soviet Union to divide Central and Eastern Europe into their spheres of influence,” the Ministry of Foreign Affairs wrote on Twitter.


    The Chancellery of the Prime Minister of Poland also referred to this ‘anniversary’: 



    As might be noted, today also marks the European Day of Remembrance for the Victims of Stalinism and Nazism. 


    “On Black Ribbon Day, we honour those who perished under the Soviet and Nazi terror. It’s our obligation so the memory of them preserves,” Poland MFA wrote. 


    More in section