back to top

    Celebrating a Century of Władysław Reymont’s Nobel Prize

    Władysław Reymont, one of Poland’s most esteemed writers, is celebrated for his literary masterpiece, “The Peasants.” President Andrzej Duda praised Reymont’s contribution to Polish culture in a letter read by his advisor, Tadeusz Deszkiewicz, during the inauguration of the centennial celebrations of Reymont’s Nobel Prize in Lipce Reymontowskie.

    The Significance of Reymont’s Nobel Prize

    President Duda highlighted the importance of Reymont’s Nobel Prize, awarded in 1924. He noted that this prestigious accolade was a significant event for Poland, as Reymont was the second Polish writer to receive it, following Henryk Sienkiewicz. The Swedish Academy honored Reymont for his “outstanding national epic,” recognizing his unique contribution to literature.

    Reymont was known for his keen observation of rural life, deeply understanding the efforts of farmers and the rich traditions of Polish villages. His fascination with Łowicz folklore, village customs, and rituals formed the foundation of his novel. Reymont’s work stands alongside the epics of Homer and Shakespeare, focusing on common people rather than rulers and generals, portraying them in their full human complexity.

    Poland’s Literary Nobel Laureates

    Reymont’s Nobel Prize is part of a proud tradition of Polish literary excellence. Poland has had five Nobel laureates in literature: Henryk Sienkiewicz, Władysław Reymont, Czesław Miłosz, Wisława Szymborska, and Olga Tokarczuk. This legacy highlights the country’s significant contributions to world literature.


    More in section