back to top

    Iga Świątek Reigns Supreme: Named Poland’s Top Athlete of 2023

    Iga Świątek, currently dominating the global women’s tennis rankings, clinched the prestigious title of Poland’s finest athlete for 2023 at the illustrious 89th “Przegląd Sportowy” awards, held in collaboration with Polsat Television.

    The tennis prodigy secured this esteemed recognition following a phenomenal year, highlighted by her triumphant conquest at the French Open, marking her third Grand Slam victory. Additionally, her stellar performance at the WTA Finals in Cancun solidified her position as the world’s leading player. Świątek’s achievements outshone renowned competitors such as Bartosz Zmarzlik, a four-time speedway world champion and the 2019 recipient of the same honour, as well as Aleksandra Śliwka, the European champion pivotal to Zaksą Kędzierzyn-Koźle’s Champions League victory in volleyball. Tomasz Świątek, Iga’s father, graciously accepted the award on her behalf as she represents Poland at the United Cup in the Antipodes.

    The gala celebrated several exceptional figures in Polish sports. Nikola Grbic, coach of the Polish national volleyball team, was hailed as the Coach of the Year for steering the team to triumphs in Rome, seizing the European Championship title with a resounding 3-0 victory over Italy, dominating the Nations League, and securing a berth in the Olympic qualification tournament.

    The Diamentowa Liga Silesia Memoriał Kamili Skolimowskiej in Chorzów received the accolade for Sports Event of the Year. In recognition of outstanding achievements despite physical challenges, Witold Skupień, a participant in three Paralympic Games and a remarkable double medalist in para Nordic skiing despite losing both arms at age 11, was honoured in the Sports Without Barriers category.

    The standout athletes in Poland for 2023, recognized by “Przegląd Sportowy” and Polsat, include:

    • 1. Iga Świątek (tennis)
    • 2. Bartosz Zmarzlik (speedway)
    • 3. Aleksander Śliwka (volleyball)
    • 4. Natalia Kaczmarek (athletics)
    • 5. Piotr Żyła (ski jumping)
    • 6. Wojciech Nowicki (athletics)
    • 7. Hubert Hurkacz (tennis)
    • 8. Martyna Klatt and Helena Wiśniewska (kayaking)
    • 9. Renata Knapik-Miazga, Martyna Swatowska-Wenglarczyk, Magdalena Pawłowska, and Ewa Trzebińska (fencing)
    • 10. Adrian Meronk (golf)

    Further acknowledgements were extended to:

    • Coach of the Year – Nikola Grbic
    • Team of the Year – Polish national volleyball team
    • Sports Event of the Year – Diamentowa Liga Silesia Memoriał Kamili Skolimowskiej
    • Sports Without Barriers – Witold Skupień
    • Olympic Hope of 2024 – Adrianna Kąkol
    • Super Champion – Jakub Błaszczykowski
    • Ministry of Sport and Tourism Sports Scholarship – Iwona Wójcik-Pietruszka, Jan Szturc, and Wacław Szukiel
    • Patron of Sports for Children and Youth – Orlen S.A.

    More in section