back to top

    Poland Triumphs Over Turkey in Thrilling Pre-Euro 2024 Match

    Poland secured a 2-1 victory over Turkey at PGE Narodowy. The game showcased both highs and lows for the Polish team, with impressive plays and unfortunate injuries marking the encounter.

    Poland got off to a flying start with Robert Lewandowski’s brilliant assist to Karol Świderski, who scored a sharp goal in the 12th minute. However, the celebration quickly turned sour as Świderski injured his ankle during his goal celebration, leading to his early substitution by Krzysztof Piątek.

    Shortly after, Poland faced another setback when Lewandowski, the team captain, had to leave the field due to an injury. Kacper Urbański replaced him, marking a challenging phase for the Polish squad.

    Goalkeeper Wojciech Szczęsny was pivotal in maintaining Poland’s lead, making several critical saves, including a one-on-one stop against Turkey’s Aktürkoğlu. Despite Turkey’s increasing dominance and multiple attempts, Szczęsny’s stellar performance kept Poland ahead.

    The match’s intensity heightened in the second half. Turkish player Yilmaz had a golden opportunity to score but was thwarted by Szczęsny. Poland also saw a near miss when Urbański’s attempt was spectacularly saved by Turkey’s goalkeeper Günok.

    Turkey eventually equalized in the 77th minute due to a defensive error by Poland, with Yilmaz scoring the tying goal. The game seemed destined for a draw until Nicola Zalewski’s stunning solo effort in the 90th minute clinched the victory for Poland.

    Despite the injuries to key players and moments of defensive vulnerability, Poland’s victory over Turkey provided a morale boost and highlighted the depth and resilience of Michał Probierz’s squad as they head into Euro 2024.

    Match Summary:

    Poland 2-1 Turkey

    • 1:0 Świderski (12′)
    • 1:1 Yilmaz (77′)
    • 2:1 Zalewski (90′)

    Poland Lineup:
    Szczęsny – Bednarek, Dawidowicz (46′ Salamon), Kiwior – Frankowski, Zalewski – Slisz (78′ D. Szymański), Zieliński (46′ S. Szymański), Piotrowski (46′ Moder) – Świderski (18′ Piątek), Lewandowski (33′ Urbański)

    More in section