back to top

    Poland’s Sportsperson of the Year – Iga Swiatek. Bartosz Zmarzlik the runner-up

    Iga Swiatek was awarded the title of Poland’s best sportsperson 2022 in the 88th poll of “Przeglad Sportowy.” The second place went to motorcycle speedway rider Bartosz Zmarzlik.

    Best of the best

    The Grand Slam French Open and US Open triumpher was ahead of three-time motorcycle speedway World Champion and 2019 poll winner Bartosz Zmarzlik and three-time poll winner (2015, 2020, 2021) Barcelona footballer Robert Lewandowski.

    Behind the podium was volleyball player Kamil Semeniuk, runner-up and winner of the Champions League with Grupa Azoty Kędzierzyn-Koźle. Fifth place went to ski jumper Dawid Kubacki, winner of Poland’s only medal of the Winter Olympics in Beijing (bronze) and current leader of the overall World Cup ranking.

    Additional awards

    Several distinctions were also awarded. The Coach of the Year went to Tomasz Wiktorowski, and the Team of the Year became the volleyball team, winning the world vice champions in Katowice.

    The Superchampion statuettes were awarded to the presidents of the Polish Football Association, Cezary Kulesza, and the Polish Volleyball Association, Sebastian Świderski. 

    Football referee Szymon Marciniak and his colleagues were awarded the Super Achievement of the Year award for their exemplary conduct in the final match of the World Cup in Qatar.

    Votes in the poll were cast through coupons printed in Przegląd Sportowy (PS) and selected editions of a daily newspaper – Fakt, via the Internet on the organisers’ websites (PS and Polsat) and through SMS. Voting took place in two stages. At first, the top ten were selected and announced at the beginning of Saturday’s gala. During the gala, it was still possible to cast votes via SMS.

    The best athletes of Poland 2022 in the poll of “Przegląd Sportowy” and Polsat:

    1. Iga Swiatek (tennis)

     2. Bartosz Zmarzlik (speedway)

     3. Robert Lewandowski (football)

     4. Kamil Semeniuk (volleyball)

     5. Dawid Kubacki (ski jumping)

     6. Mateusz Ponitka (basketball)

     7. Adrian Meronk (golf)

     8. Katarzyna Wasick (swimming) 

     9. Paweł Fajdek (athletics)

    10. Fabian Barański, Mirosław Ziętarski, Mateusz Biskup, Dominik Czaja (rowing)


    Coach of the Year – Tomasz Wiktorowski

    Team of the Year – Polish national volleyball team

    Sport Without Barriers – Monika Pyrek and Szymon Sowiński

    Sports Initiative of the Year – Totalizator Sportowy

    Superchampion – Cezary Kulesza and Sebastian Świderski

    Super Achievement of the Year – Szymon Marciniak, Tomasz Listkiewicz, Paweł Sokolnicki, Tomasz Kwiatkowski

    Sponsor of Polish Sports – PKN Orlen

    More in section