back to top

    WindWhisper Racing Team Sets Sail for Grand Finale of The Ocean Race

    Estimated reading time: 2 minutes

    The much-anticipated grand finale of The Ocean Race is set to take place in Genoa this weekend. After an exhilarating oceanic phase, the legendary regatta will culminate in a port race, captivating a massive audience. WindWhisper Racing Team, following their unquestionable triumph in the last leg around Europe, from The Hague to Genoa, had a moment to catch their breath before the final weekend.

    As the teams prepare for the final port race, the standings after three races are as follows: WindWhisper Racing Team (Poland) leading with 17 points, followed by Team JAJO (Netherlands) with 11 points, and Mirpuri/Trifork Racing Team (Denmark) with 7 points. The stakes are high as WindWhisper Racing Team has the chance to claim another trophy in The Ocean Race VO65 Sprint Cup for the port races.

    A Special Guest on Board

    Accompanying the Polish yacht, WindWhisper, will be a special guest—the winner of a charity auction that supported the Great Orchestra of Christmas Charity. The guest secured their spot on board WindWhisper with a remarkable bid of 40,400 PLN. The added support from this generous individual may contribute to WindWhisper Racing Team’s triumph in the overall rankings.

    The official closing ceremony of the six-month race series will take place in the impressive Ocean Race Village in Genoa on Saturday. The event will celebrate the champions and mark the end of an incredible journey. While the port race results won’t affect the general standings, WindWhisper Racing Team has already secured their victory with three stage wins, establishing themselves as the undeniable champions of The Ocean Race VO65 Sprint Cup.

    The Final Port Race Lineup

    In the highly anticipated grand finale port race, WindWhisper Racing Team will set sail with a formidable crew, including skipper Pablo Arrarte and talented sailors Aksel Magdahl, Marcin Sutkowski, Mateusz Gwóźdź, Kacper Gwóźdź, Stanisław Bajerski, Szymon Cierzan, Liz Wardley, Gemma Jones, and Arianne van de Loosdrecht. The stage is set for a thrilling showdown to determine the port race victor.

    More in section