back to top

    National Centre of Culture with the Visegrad Prize

    The National Cultural Centre in Warsaw will be honoured with the Visegrad Prize. This was decided by the Ministers of Culture of the Visegrad Group countries – informed the Ministry of Culture, National Heritage and Sport.

    As the Ministry reminded that “one of the permanent elements of the regular annual meetings of the Ministers of Culture in the Visegrad Group countries, in addition to the review of joint projects and discussions on current issues and challenges for cultural policies in the region, is the selection of the winner of the Visegrad Prize”.


    “During this year’s meeting, the Ministers of Culture of Poland, the Czech Republic, Slovakia and Hungary decided to honour the National Centre of Culture (NCK) with this award. Ministers paid special attention to the project initiated in recent years by the NCK – the EUFONIE International Festival of Central and Eastern European Music, which contributes to strengthening cultural exchange between the V4 countries in the field of music,” was written.


    The Ministry of Culture, National Heritage and Sport stressed that “since the beginning, the preparation and implementation of the EUFONIE project has involved prominent personalities and institutions from the V4 countries”.


    The Visegrad Award ceremony will be held on the occasion of the next ministerial meeting of the Hungarian V4 presidency in 2022.


    The International Visegrad Prize, established in November 2004, is awarded by a joint decision of the Ministers of Culture of the V4 in recognition of the contribution to the development of cultural cooperation between the V4 countries. In previous years, the Polish winners of the award were: The International Cultural Centre in Krakow (2006), Villa Decius Association (2010), International Theatre Festival “Demoludy in New Europe” (2014). 


    The award was also granted to the Museum of Art in Olomouc (Czech Republic), the TV magazine “Quartet” (Slovakia), the National Philharmonic Orchestra (Hungary) and the Jan Amos Komeński Museum (Czech Republic).



    More in section