back to top

    Tour de Pologne: Nikias Arndt won in Bielsko-Biała. Michał Kwiatkowski just outside the top 10 after a tense finish

    Nikias Arndt from Team DSM won the fifth stage of the Tour de Pologne with the finishing line in Bielsko-Biała. Portuguese Joao Almeida (Deceuninck-Quick Step) remained the leader, approached by Matej Mohorić (Bahrain-Victorious). Michał Kwiatkowski (INEOS-Grenadiers) did not manage to fight for the victory in the finish, where there were many falls. Today, an individual time trial in Katowice, which should determine the winner of the 78th edition of the race.

    In previous years a smaller peloton finished in Bielsko-Biała. It was possible to win then for a sprinter like Luka Mezgec. Three years ago, Michał Kwiatkowski triumphed and in last year’s edition the current world champion Richard Carapaz. Now we also counted on the success of the INEOS rider. 


    Before the stage was settled, the riders overcame 173 kilometres from Chochołów. After a fast start at the front in the breakaway of the day were Lukasz Owsian (Poland National Team), Colombian Daniel Arroyave (EF Education-Nippo), Latvian Emil Liepins (Trek-Segafredo), Kazakh Yevgeny Fedorov (Astana), Australian Robert Power (Team Qhubeka NextHash) and Jonas Rickaert (Alpecin-Fenix). They were unable to create a big lead over the peloton, led among others by Kwiatkowski’s colleagues. 


    It was a special day for Tomasz Marczyński. The 37-year-old from the Lotto Soudal group ends his career. On Friday, the fans gave him a surprise, in a special fan zone on the route thanking him for his years of starts and, among others, two-stage won in the Spanish Vuelta.


    Tour de Pologne. Results of the 5th stage Chochołów – Bielsko-Biała (173 km):


    1. Nikias Arndt (Germany/Team DSM) 4:02.20

    2. Matej Mohorić (Slovenia/Bahrain-Victorious)

    3. Stefano Oldani (Italy/Lotto Soudal)

    4. Joao Almeida (Portugal/Deceuninck-Quick Step) 4:41.33

    5. Diego Ulissi (Italy/UAE-Team Emirates)

    6. Quinten Hermans (Netherlands/Intermarche-Wanty-Gobert Materiaux)

    7. David Dekker (Netherlands/Jumbo-Visma)

    8. Jake Stewart (Great Britain/Groupama-FDJ)

    9. Andrea Vendrame (Italy/AG2R Citroen)

    10. Mikkel Frolich Honore (Denmark/Deceuninck-Quick Step) 

    11. Michał Kwiatkowski (Poland/INEOS-Grenadiers)


    Tour de Pologne. General classification after the 5th stage:


    1. Joao Almeida (Portugal/Deceuninck-Quick Step) 22:54.44

    2. Matej Mohorić (Slovenia/Bahrain Victorious) +0.02

    3. Diego Ulissi (Italy/UAE Team Emirates) +0.14

    4. Michał Kwiatkowski (Poland/Ineos Grenadiers) +0.21

    5. Lorenzo Rota (Italy/Intermarche-Wanty-Gobert Materiaux) +0.32

    6. Giovanni Aleotti (Italy/Bora-Hansgrohe)

    7. Dylan Teuns (Belgium/Bahrain-Victorious) 

    8. Einer Rubio (Colombia/Movistar) +0.36

    9. Tim Wellens (Belgium/Lotto Soudal)

    10. Mikkel Froelich Honore (Denmark/Deceuninck-Quick Step) +0.37 


    Mountain classification leader Łukasz Owsian (Poland)

    Sprinter classification leader: Matej Mohorić (Slovenia/Bahrain-Victorious) 

    The most active biker: Taco van der Hoorn (Netherlands/Intermarche-Wanty-Gobert Materiaux) 

    Team leader: Intermarche-Wanty-Gobert Materiaux


    Wyniki premii na 5. etapie:


    1st category mountain bonus, Kowiarki Mountain Pass: 1. Liepins, 2. Owsian, 3. Arroyave

    1st category mountain bonus, Kocierz: 1. Liepins, 2. Owsian, 3. Rickaert

    LOTTO bonus, Gmina Andrychów: 1. Arroyave, 2. Rickaert, 3. Owsian

    Special mountain bonus, Przegibek Mountain pass: 1. Owsian, 2. Rickaert, 3. Liepins


    More in section