back to top

    Warsaw Marathon: The best Shegumo and Andrzejczak

    Yared Shegumo (AZS AWF Warszawa) and Monika Andrzejczak (RAZ Szczecin) have won the 43rd Warsaw Marathon. Shegumo, representing Poland and coming from Ethiopia, clocked 2:14.38, while Andrzejczak covered the distance of 42 km and 195 m in 2:31.11.

    Shegumo, European runner-up in Zurich (2014), was the winner of the Warsaw Marathon for the second time. He previously triumphed in 2013. He was ahead of Kenyan Boniface Nduva – 2:18.04 and Krzysztof Gosiewski (Zawisza Bydgoszcz) – 2:23.45.


    The first place among women went to Monika Andrzejczak, the second place was taken by last year’s winner of the Warsaw Marathon Dominika Stelmach-Stawczyk (RH Athletics) – 2:41.47, and the third place was taken by the German Nela Alder-Baerens (2:53.41), who at the same time won the gold medal of the deaf world championships. Third place in this category went to Agata Kosztowny (3:10.07).


    More in section