back to top

    Prof. Leszek Roszkowski elected to EASA

    Prof. Leszek Roszkowski has become a member of the European Academy of Sciences and Arts (EASA). EASA is one of the most prestigious scientific and artistic organizations in Europe.

    EASA aims to promote progress in scientific and artistic activities in the spirit of freedom and the search for truth. Its over 2,000 members are scientists, people of culture, art and religion, including 37 Nobel Prize winners (according to EASA web site) and the late Pope Benedict XVI. Among its members from Poland are Prof. Jerzy Buzek, Prof. Michal Kleiber, Prof. Krzysztof Penderecki, Prof. Henryk Skarżyński, Prof. Ryszard Tadeusiewicz, Prof. Jerzy Woźnicki and Prof. Andrzej Zoll.

    Prof. Leszek Roszkowski is employed in the Division of Theoretical Physics of the National Center for Nuclear Research and he heads the international research agenda AstroCeNT at Nicolaus Copernicus Astronomical Center of the Polish Academy of Sciences.

    Research interests of the new EASA member Prof. Leszek Roszkowski focus on the so-called new particle physics, in particular the search for dark matter.

    He is the author of over 100 publications in leading scientific journals.

    Earlier, in 2010, Prof. Roszkowski became a laureate of another FNP programme – ‘Welcome”, addressed to outstanding scientists from around the world who want to form research teams and carry out research projects in Poland. He conducted research at the Institute of Nuclear Problems in Krakow, co-financed with over PLN 5 million. (PAP)

    More in section