back to top

    Robert Lewandowski with the Trofeo Pichichi

    Estimated reading time: 2 minutes

    Robert Lewandowski clinches the La Liga title and the Trofeo Pichichi as the league’s top scorer in his debut season with Barcelona, outperforming Karim Benzema. Check out the final standings and remarkable accomplishments of FC Barcelona.

    In a remarkable debut season in La Liga, Robert Lewandowski has propelled Barcelona to become the champions of Spain. The Polish striker also claimed the prestigious Trofeo Pichichi, awarded to the league’s leading goal scorer, finishing well ahead of second-placed Karim Benzema. Let’s take a look at the final standings in the goal-scoring chart and recap Barcelona’s journey to the title.

    Lewandowski’s impressive tally of 23 goals, accompanied by 7 assists, secured his place at the top of the La Liga goal-scoring rankings. Karim Benzema of Real Madrid finished in second place with 19 goals and 3 assists, but his efforts were insufficient to surpass the prolific Polish striker.

    Throughout the season, FC Barcelona showcased their dominance in the league. In the 34th round of La Liga matches, Barcelona sealed the championship title after a thrilling 4-2 victory in the local derby against Espanyol. It was during this match that Lewandowski recorded his first brace since April 1st, adding to his already impressive goal-scoring record.

    However, Barcelona faced a brief setback in the subsequent two fixtures, suffering defeats against Real Sociedad and Real Valladolid. Lewandowski, ever the influential figure, managed to find the back of the net in both matches, contributing crucial goals to the title-winning campaign.

    Their streak of losses was ultimately halted in a clash with Mallorca, where Barcelona secured a convincing 3-0 win, with Lewandowski providing an assist. Despite not scoring in the final match of the season, where Barcelona fell to Celta Vigo with a 1-2 defeat, Lewandowski solidified his position as the most lethal striker in La Liga.

    Let’s take a glance at the top goal scorers in La Liga for the 2022/23 season:

    1. Robert Lewandowski (FC Barcelona) – 23 goals
    2. Karim Benzema (Real Madrid) – 19 goals
    3. Joselu (Espanyol) – 16 goals
    4. Antoine Griezmann (Atletico Madrid) – 15 goals
    5. Borja Iglesias (Real Betis) – 15 goals
    6. Vedat Muriqi (Mallorca) – 15 goals
    7. Enes Unal (Getafe) – 14 goals
    8. Alvaro Morata (Atletico Madrid) – 13 goals
    9. Taty Castellanos (Girona) – 13 goals
    10. Nicolas Jackson (Villarreal) – 12 goals
    11. Iago Aspas (Celta Vigo) – 12 goals
    12. Alexander Sorloth (Real Sociedad) – 12 goals

    Robert Lewandowski’s outstanding performances, leading both Barcelona and the goal-scoring charts, have undoubtedly left an indelible mark on La Liga. The Polish captain has proven his exceptional prowess in front of the goal, guiding Barcelona to their triumphant season in Spain’s top-flight football.


    Poland Defeated! Austria Too Strong for the White-and-Reds. Second Loss at Euro 2024

    In a challenging second group stage match of Euro 2024, Poland was defeated 1-3 by Austria. Despite an equalizing goal from Krzysztof Piątek, the...