back to top

    President Andrzej Duda dismisses Deputy Prime Ministers, Jarosław Kaczyński returns

    President Andrzej Duda will appoint Law and Justice (PiS) President Jarosław Kaczyński as Deputy Prime Minister today, at 12:00 p.m. at the Presidential Palace.

    Information on the dismissal of several previous Deputy Prime Ministers was also confirmed by a government spokesperson in an interview with PAP. The head of the Ministry of Defence, Mariusz Blaszczak, the Minister of Culture and National Heritage, Piotr Gliński, Henryk Kowalczyk, and the Minister of State Assets, Jacek Sasin, are to be removed from their posts. Moreover, Henryk Kowalczyk will leave the government altogether, no longer being Deputy Prime Minister.

    It should be noted that this is Jarosław Kaczyński’s return to the government, after he resigned as Deputy Prime Minister and chairman of the security committee in June 2022. For a long time, Kaczyński was responsible for the activities of this committee, having held this position since October 2020.

    After the expected changes, related to the dismissal of the previous Deputy Prime Ministers, Prime Minister Mateusz Morawiecki will be left with only one deputy – the President of the Law and Justice party, Jarosław Kaczyński.

    More in section